desktopdanax.blogg.se

Schmoop the lover duras
Schmoop the lover duras




schmoop the lover duras

Why I Read This Now: I read this in grade 10 English, and my 15 yr old daughter is now reading it for her grade 10 English class, so I thought I'd brush up on it so we can discuss it.Ĭomments: This really is an excellent novel, and I can see why it is so widely taught in North American schools. Instead of a direct translation, which would have tied to two or three references in the novel itself, for some reason they decided to call it "Dark Over the Hedge." I find the translation of the title so fascinating. This is the edition I bought my mother-in-law when I was in Italy a few years ago. The top orange bit in the centre is a small rip into the bird, which mirrors the symbols of the destruction of the innocence in the novel.ģ. The tree and bird make sort of a cross-symbol, and although this isn't a Christian novel, it is highly moral, so that sort of ties together. I find the cover art on this 1965 edition pleasing and interesting. This is the 25-cent used hardcover copy my daughter is reading (her book habits preclude her from touching my nice edition, above). It's a hardcover with a silky ribbon marker, and the dustjacket is a reproduction of the artwork on the original edition. I have the lovely "deluxe gift edition" of this book. To Kill a Mockingbird, Harper Lee - 1960 - Rereadġ. And it's one more off the 1001 Books list. I was right, and it fit the bill perfectly. Why I Read This Now: I thought this would be a breezy, short book with some meat to it, which is what I needed to start the New Year. If you don't like British humour, this one isn't for you. Recommended for: Waugh is a must-read for all Anglophiles.

schmoop the lover duras

It's one short chapter out of 26, and may increase your enjoyment of the novel. So, if this bothers you, rather than miss an otherwise lovely novel, just skip chapter 9 entirely. But still, the racism (against 3 different groups, but mainly Africans) was very uncomfortable to read.

schmoop the lover duras

And further, Waugh is satirizing the ignoramuses making the comments. And it's no secret that the British ruling class of the 1920s had utter disdain for anyone who was not them. The caveat: I try not to judge older books by today's standards. Miles Malpractice, Sir Humphrey Maltravers, and Lord Parakeet. As The Atlantic says, Waugh has created a "riotously anarchic cosmos." How can you not have fun with a book where characters are named Sir Alastair Digby-Vane-Trumpington Lady Circumference Lord Pastmaster Clutterbuck Colonels Slidebottom, Shybottom and Sidbotham Hon. And so church, the educational system, and the aristocracy fall victim to his scathing pen and wit.Īnyway, with one caveat, I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Ten points for Gryffindor!īut really, isn't all post-WWI British lit about the decline of Empire? Playing off Gibbon's History of the Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire, Waugh wasn't even trying to be subtle. Based on its title, and having read his second novel ( Vile Bodies), I pretty well knew to expect a satirical, funny-with-a-message book about the atrophy of the British Empire. Rating: 4 stars (I didn't like it quite as much as Vile Bodies, but still, very good)Ĭomments: This is Waugh's first published novel. This is a Penguin Evelyn Waugh Centenary Edition. As for that photo itself, while it has a sort of 20s feel, it really doesn't relate to the story in any strongly meaningful way. "Evelyn Waugh" is in silver foil, and the spine is silver, which is a very 1920s colour, and goes smashingly with the black and white photo.

schmoop the lover duras

#Schmoop the lover duras full#

Cover comments: You can't really see the full appeal of this cover from this shot.






Schmoop the lover duras